Emergency Medical Services Institute — EMSI 
School of Sciences, Health, Engineering and Math

About the Program

Want to learn how to provide emergency care in a 911 setting? Want to make a difference in your community and save lives?

Enroll in SFCC’s Emergency Medical Services Institute (EMSI). You will learn from instructors who are experienced professionals dedicated to preparing qualified, competent and compassionate health care providers.

You can earn Emergency Medical Technician certification and state licensure at the Basic, Intermediate and Paramedic levels.

Apply to the 2019 – 2020 Paramedic cohort

The EMSI at SFCC will begin accepting applications to the 2019 – 2020 Paramedic program on April 1, 2019. The application period will close at 1700 on Wednesday, July 31, 2019. The application packet, with instructions, is here: Paramedic Program Application 2019-2020


Working as an EMT or Paramedic often means you’re making the difference between life and death.

SFCC’s Emergency Medical Services Institute offers high-quality training in the assessment, understanding and management of medical, trauma, cardiac, pediatric and many other types of  emergencies. Our graduates are prepared to provide immediate, quality, compassionate and evidence-based care wherever it is needed.

Partnerships with local fire and EMS departments provide the realistic environment for students to practice rescue exercises in life-threatening situations.

SFCC’s EMSI preps graduates to sit for the National Registry of EMTs (NREMT) certification exams and to obtain New Mexico licensure. EMTs and paramedics are needed around the state and the nation, so, once licensed, graduates will be in high demand from employers. SFCC graduates at all levels pass their NREMT exams at significantly higher than average rates.

The Institute also offers certification in CPR/First Aid and post licensure certification courses in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS), Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS) and PreHospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS). Once you’re licensed, you’re eligible to work in a variety of rural and urban emergency settings.


  • Learn about the requirements for the Basic Emergency Medical Technician Certificates here!
  • Learn about the requirements for the Intermediate Emergency Medical Technician Certificates here!
Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS)
Basic Life Support CPR (BLS)
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS)
Pre-hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS)
CPR and First Aid Courses