CRLA Tutoring Program Certification


The Santa Fe Community College Tutoring Program has a Level I CRLA program certification. This designation indicates that the tutors in the program have received specialized training.

Upon successful completion of the required training for new tutors, the tutors will be awarded a CRLA certificate indicating this achievement. Tutors benefit from having this recognition by including it on their resumes. When they transfer to another college and look for tutoring opportunities, or if they desire to do private tutoring and are asked to provide a credential.

This additional information about the certification is from the College Reading and Learning Association (CRLA) web site:



Since March 1989, over 700 college and university tutorial programs in the United States and Canada have received tutor training certification through CRLA’s International Tutor Program Certification (ITPC).


The purpose of this program is twofold. First, it provides recognition and positive reinforcement for tutors’ successful work from an international organization, CRLA. Second, its certification process sets a standard of skills and training for tutors.


CRLA’s ITPC has been endorsed by the National Association for Developmental Education, Commission XVI of the American College Personnel Association, the American Council of Developmental Education Associations, Association for the Tutoring Professional and the National Tutoring Association.

ITPC Certification Levels

There are three levels of certification:

  • Regular
  • Advanced
  • Master

Each level requires an additional ten hours of training and 25 hours of experience. After meeting the requirements for an initial institutional certification for one year, CRLA offers a three-year renewal certification which can be followed by a five-year recertification.